Skip to main content
Ref no:
293456
Published:
30/8/2022
Closes:
3/10/2022
Location:
Thistle Foundation, EH11 2LH
Salary:
£22,084 per annum (FTE) rising to £23,124 (FTE) plus generous benefits package, including a £500 welcome payment
Contract Type:
Permanent
Position Type:
Full Time & Part Time

This position has expired.

Job Purpose

Our Personal Assistants support people to lead full, active and socially connected lives, supporting people to achieve the things that matter to them.

Applicants should have, or be willing to work towards, a qualification meeting the standards required for registration with the Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC).

Job Details

We are currently looking for Personal Assistants to become part of the team who support a young man who is 30 on various hour contracts. This young man lives in West Edinburgh, Edinburgh. Support is provided daily between 9:30 am and 10 pm except for Thursdays (this may change).

The current support times are:

  • 3 days 9:30-19:30
  • 4 days 9:30-20:00

A driving licence is essential for this post.

About this opportunity

We are looking for someone who can work alongside the established team, to provide meaningful support to this young man who is looking to explore more life experiences.

I am a young male who loves music and films. My favourite actress is Emma Watson and I love to dance to Michael Jackson and other music. I enjoy going out for day trips and like listening to music and dancing. I’m nervous around dogs but like all other animals. Some of the things I have enjoyed doing with my team in the past includes creating music videos, singing together in my car and going out to restaurants. I also like going to the cinema. However sometimes I like to chill in the house and have some downtime on my own.

I have my own car and when going outside the house I use my power wheelchair, however I can transfer into other seats when out and when in the house, independently. I walk on my knees at home. I require assistance in the shower and to help me make meals. I don’t like certain foods but always up for trying new things and I also like to help with baking, making cakes and other treats. I like to watch the Simpsons in the evening while eating dinner. I do not smoke and have no pets.

I am looking for someone who is interested in getting to know me and who kind and patient and who is a good listener and who can help me to do the activities I enjoy as well as help with day to day routines, such as my physio exercises.

I usually attend a drama workshop at Upmo on Thursdays, which I really enjoy. I also enjoy my yoga class with Hannah on Fridays.

Previous experience is not necessary. Your personal values and your life experiences that you can bring to the role are more important. Thistle provides outstanding training and support that is ongoing throughout your career with us. Sleepovers are desirable but not essential for this post.

If you would like an informal chat about this vacancy please contact Sharon.Hauxwell@thistle.org.uk

Please click here for the full job description.

Job ref: AS221